ATA Educational Trust

What is the ATA Educational Trust?

The ATA Educational Trust (the Trust) is a registered charity that provides

  • bursaries to encourage teachers to advance their knowledge and skills, and
  • grants to help teachers attend professional development activities and events.


The Trust has four ongoing programs. Each bursary or grant has its own awards and eligibility criteria (click to expand). Anyone who receives a grant or bursary must wait three full school years before applying for another Trust bursary or grant.

Dr B T Keeler Continuing Education Bursary—$700


To qualify for a Dr B T Keeler Continuing Education Bursary, you must be a certificated Alberta teacher who is planning to take a course in the upcoming summer or school year. The course must be related to teaching and must have a tuition cost, and you must be able to provide proof of course completion. The course must also meet the following criteria:

  • The course material and curriculum must be organized and delivered by the faculty of a university or a professional program of education at a recognized institution.
  • The course must accrue credit for certificate requirements or for an education-related graduate degree at a recognized institution.
  • The applicant must be engaged in the course as a regularly scheduled activity, over a few weeks to a few months.
  • The course may be delivered through an in-person class, an online synchronous class or a blended approach, and will be evaluated by faculty for the purposes of successful completion.

In certain circumstances, the first two criteria can be waived. Contact the Trust before applying.

How to apply

Deadline: May 1 annually

Selection: The name of each eligible person will be entered into a draw. Successful applicants will be notified by mail before the end of June.

belairdirect Insurance Centennial Fund for Teacher Development—$600


This grant enables a teacher to attend a non-ATA professional development event:

  • Conference
  • Workshop
  • Seminar
  • Institute
  • Symposium

The grant is paid after you have attended the event and submitted proof of payment with a claim form.

How to apply

Deadline: September 30 annually, with the professional development event occurring within one year of the application deadline

Selection: The name of each eligible person will be entered into a draw. Successful applicants will be notified by mail by November.

Apply now

Orest and Francina Lazarowich Bursary in CTS Technology Education—Up to $2,000


This bursary is funded by the Trust and administered by the University of Alberta. It is awarded to a University of Alberta student with satisfactory academic standing enrolled in the Faculty of Education. Selection is based on demonstrated financial need. Preference will be given to a student enrolled in the third year of the career and technology studies (CTS) program, majoring in technology education.

How to apply


December 15 (fall term enrolment only)
April 30 (winter term enrolment)
June 15 (spring or summer enrolment)

Selection: One recipient is awarded each year, on the basis of demonstrated need.

Apply online: Apply for the University of Alberta’s Domestic Supplementary Bursary or International Supplementary Bursary to be considered.

ATA Specialist Council Conference Grants—$500


This grant provides support to a teacher attending an ATA specialist council conference. It can be used to pay for registration, accommodations, fuel and food.

To qualify for a grant, you must

  • register or plan to register for an ATA specialist council conference,
  • take full advantage of other sources of funding available,
  • not be a conference organizer and
  • not have received a Trust bursary or grant in the past three years.
How to apply

Deadline: September 30 annually

Selection: The name of each eligible person will be entered into a draw. Successful applicants will receive a claim form in October.

Apply now

Contacting the Trust

For more information about the Trust and its award programs, call 780-447-9498 or 1-800-232-7208, ext 498, or e-mail

Board of trustees 2022/23

  • Melissa Morton (Chair), Edmonton Public Teachers Local No 37
  • Stephen Hart, Calgary Public Teachers Local No 38
  • Sheila Hobday, Public Member
  • Leon Lau, Calgary Public Teachers Local No 38
  • Kari Morgan, Sturgeon Local No 27
  • Vi Oko, Alberta Retired Teachers’ Association Representative
  • Jeff Huculak, ATA Representative

Donating to the Trust

The Trust is a registered charitable organization created in 1978. It receives ongoing support from the ATA, ATA locals, the Alberta Retired Teachers’ Association and private individuals.

Would you like to support this important work?

Bequests in memory of a favourite teacher, donations to celebrate a colleague’s successful career in education and individual donations are all gratefully accepted. Tax receipts will be issued.

To donate go to or fill out one of these forms:

2022/23 recipients

See everyone who was awarded by the the Trust this year