Provincial Executive Council

Light blue page hero image

The Provincial Executive Council (PEC) is a 20-person committee that creates and sets ATA policies and practices. It also creates standing and ad hoc committees to advise and assist it on various education-related matters. PEC includes the elected representatives of Alberta teachers plus the Association's executive secretary.

Of the 20 members, 15 are district representatives from 11 geographic districts. The other five are the president, two vice-presidents, the past president and the executive secretary. Collectively, these five are referred to as the table officers. 

Members of each geographic district elect their district representative(s) for two-year terms. All ATA members in Alberta elect the president and vice-presidents for two-year terms.

PEC meets at least eight times each year.

About PEC elections

PEC representatives serve two-year terms, and the ATA conducts elections for PEC positions every two years. The term of office starts on July 1 of the election year. 

How to run in a PEC election

If you are an active or associate member of the ATA, you are eligible to run in a PEC election. Be sure to review the roles and responsibilities of PEC members and familiarize yourself with the time commitment.  

The ATA provides financial assistance to all candidates via a basic grant and travel expense coverage.

More information about financial assistance and other requirements and procedures is available in the PEC Election Candidates’ Handbook, which will be available Fall 2024. 

Table Officers

ATA president, Jason Schilling

Jason C Schilling

District Representative Greg Carabine

Greg P Carabine

District Representative Peter MacKay

Peter MacKay

Past-president Greg Jeffery
Past President

Greg A Jeffery

ATA executive secretary Dennis Theobald
Executive Secretary

Dennis E Theobald

District Representatives

Calgary City

District Representative Kevin Kempt
District Representative

Kevin L Kempt

Calgary Public Teachers No 38
Calgary Separate School No 55

PEC member Darren Moroz
District Representative

Darren J Moroz

Calgary Public Teachers No 38
Calgary Separate School No 55

District Representative Allison Scott Davies
District Representative

Allison Scott Davies

Calgary Public Teachers No 38
Calgary Separate School No 55

Calgary District

District Representative Karen Nakaska
District Representative

Karen M Nakaska

Canadian Rockies No 59
Christ the Redeemer No 29
Foothills No 16
Rocky View No 35


District Representative Brenton Baum
District Representative

Brenton J Baum

Association des enseignantes et des enseignants francophones de l’Alberta No 24
Black Gold Teachers’ No 8
St Thomas Aquinas Teachers’ No 45
Timberline No 9
Wetaskiwin No 18

Central East

District Representative Murray Lalonde
District Representative

M Murray Lalonde

Aspen View No 7
Battle River No 32
Greater St Paul No 25
Lakeland Catholic Separate No 30
Northern Lights No 15
Park Plains East No 31

Central North

District Representative Rick Kemp
District Representative

Rick C Kremp

Evergreen No 11
Evergreen Catholic No 44
Northern Gateway No 43
Parkland Teachers' No 10
Pembina Hills No 22
Woodland Rivers No 40

Central South

PEC member Brice Unland
District Representative

Brice Unland

Chinook's Edge No 17
Clearview Teachers No 33
Red Deer Catholic No 80
Red Deer City No 60
Wolf Creek No 3

Edmonton District

District Representative Paul Froese
District Representative

Paul Froese

Elk Island No 28
Elk Island Catholic Teachers No 21
Greater St Albert Catholic No 23
St Albert Public Teachers No 73
Sturgeon No 27

Edmonton McMurray

District Representative Carmen Glossop
District Representative

Carmen N Glossop

Edmonton Catholic Teachers
No 54
Edmonton Public Teachers No 37
Fort McMurray No 48

District Representative Greg Meeker
District Representative

Greg Meeker

Edmonton Catholic Teachers
No 54
Edmonton Public Teachers No 37
Fort McMurray No 48

Portrait of a man wearing a flower patterned shirt with a black t-shirt underneath
District Representative

Jay Procktor

Edmonton Catholic Teachers
No 54
Edmonton Public Teachers No 37
Fort McMurray No 48

North West

District Representative Rhonda Kelly
District Representative

Rhonda Kelly

Fort Vermilion No 77
Grande Prairie and District Catholic Teachers No 42
Greater Peace No 13
High Prairie No 62
Northern Spirit No 6
Northland No 69
Trumpeter No 26

South East

District Representative Heather McCaig
District Representative

Heather D McCaig

Grasslands No 34
Medicine Hat No 1
Medicine Hat Catholic Teachers No 39
Prairieland No 36
Prairie Rose No 2
Three Drums of Wheat No 20

South West

District Representative Katherine Pritchard
District Representative

Katherine D Pritchard

Holy Spirit Catholic No 5
Horizon No 4
Lethbridge Public School No 41
Livingstone Range No 14
Palliser No 19
Westwind No 12