ATA News

Teachers recognized for excellence

A gold star on a dark background

Ten Alberta teachers are among the recipients of the 2023 Prime Minister’s awards for teaching excellence.

The awards for Canada’s top teachers are broken down into three categories: teaching excellence, teaching excellence in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM), and teaching excellence in early childhood. Each category awards a national certificate of excellence, as well as a regional certificate of achievement. 

“Every day, teachers go above and beyond as mentors, coaches, counsellors and advocates for the next generation of Canadians,” said Prime Minister Justin Trudeau in a government release. “Your dedication and service to our kids help make Canada the best country in the world.”

The award winners were announced as part of World Teachers’ Day on Oct. 5. Here is a list of ATA members who received this award for 2023.

Certificate of Achievement for Teacher Excellence 

  • Jocelyn Encinas — Ralston School, Prairie Rose School Division
  • Leanne Jordison — Duclos School, Northern Lights School Division
  • Shelley Sinclair — Irma School, Buffalo Trail School Division
  • Sarah Steinbach — École H.J. Cody High School, Chinook’s Edge School Division
  • Aaron Thacker — Dr. Donald Massey School, Edmonton School Division

Certificate of Achievement for Teacher Excellence in STEM

  • Melanie Beebe — École Oriole Park Elementary School, Red Deer School Division
  • Marion Rex Howard — St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic School, Evergreen Catholic Separate School Division
  • Kathryn Richards — St. Andrew School, Calgary Roman Catholic Separate School Division
  • Chantal Sakowich — Assumption Junior/Senior High School, Lakeland Roman Catholic Separate School Division
  • Michael Saretzky — St. Patrick Community School, Red Deer Catholic Separate School Division ❚

The awards were launched in 1994.

More than 2,100 teachers have been honoured.

Out of 150 nominations in 2023, 74 teachers received an award.

130 volunteers from education communities across Canada make up the selection committee.

Full list of 2023 recipients

Nominate a teacher for the 2024 Prime Minister's Awards for Teacher Excellence