ATA News

ATA expands gold medal program

ATA gold medal

A long-standing ATA award program that recognizes outstanding new education graduates will expand from four recipients to 13 beginning next year.

The Gold Medals in Education are currently awarded to new graduates of four institutions: the University of Alberta, Campus Saint-Jean, University of Calgary and University of Lethbridge. Next year the program will also include graduates of nine other Alberta-based institutions.

The program awards graduating bachelor of education students who have demonstrated the highest overall general proficiency in their coursework and field experience programs.

“These awards recognize the talent of up-and-coming leaders in education and reinforce the ATA’s public commitment to maintaining high standards of excellence in the profession,” said ATA president Jason Schilling.

Another new addition to the program is a $2,000 cash award for each recipient. Previously, award winners received only a gold medal. In order to finance this change, the program is switching from solid gold medals to gold plated.

Originating in 1951, the program was due for an update, Schilling said.

“These changes are modernizing this program and enabling us to recognize excellent graduates from all across the province rather than just select institutions,” Schilling said. ❚

ATA Gold Medals in Education

Currently awarded to

  • Campus Saint-Jean
  • University of Alberta
  • University of Calgary
  • University of Lethbridge

Expanding to

  • Ambrose University
  • Concordia University of Edmonton
  • Keyano College
  • The King’s University
  • Medicine Hat College
  • Mount Royal University
  • Red Deer Polytechnic
  • Northwestern Polytechnic
  • St. Mary’s University