June Provincial Executive Council Meeting

The Provincial Executive Council (PEC) is a 20-person committee that creates and sets ATA policies and practices. It also creates standing and ad hoc committees to advise and assist it on various education-related matters. PEC includes the elected representatives of Alberta teachers plus the Association's executive secretary.

Of the 20 members, 15 are district representatives from 11 geographic districts. The other five are the president, two vice-presidents, the past president and the executive secretary. Collectively, these five are referred to as the table officers. 

Members of each geographic district elect their district representative(s) for two-year terms. All ATA members in Alberta elect the president and vice-presidents for two-year terms.

PEC meets at least eight times each year.


Shelley Svidal

Assistant to Executive Secretary